City of Cannon Beach

City Council

Four Councilors and the Mayor are elected at-large for four-year terms, with a limit of eight years continuous service per member. Council meets on a regular basis, at least once a month, and is presided over by the Mayor, who leads the meetings and ensures that proper rules of order are followed. In the Mayor's absence, the Council President takes on his or her duties. All Council meetings are required by law to be open to the public, and a recording of the proceedings is taped, and transcribed into written minutes which are later approved by Council. Copies of agendas and minutes are available online or from City Hall.

City Councilors Mayor Sam Steidel,
Councilor Mike Benefield,
Councilor Nancy McCarthy,
Councilor Brandon Ogilvie,
Councilor George Vetter,

To email all Councilors, click here.

Meeting Day
1st Tuesday, 7:00 pm (Regular Meeting)
2nd Tuesday, 5:30 pm (Work Session)

Staff Contacts
Brant Kucera , City Manager,
Colleen Riggs, City Recorder,


Click here for information on other City Committees, Boards & Commissions.

Click here to review the City's Charter.